Skip to content ↓

Scholarships and Bursaries

Special Awards

At St Saviour’s and St Olave’s School we are proud to be supported by an enormous range of people and organisations that choose to support our Sixth Form Students financially in the form of bursaries and scholarships. Last year the sum of these prizes was over £10,000. These are awarded for a range of things such as achievement, endeavour, service to our community among others. Below you can see the nature of the awards given to Year 13 leavers last year.

Grindley Prize:

Endowed in 1918 by Mr Grindley who was a Warden of the Foundation. The prize is awarded for arts and is in memory of his wife.


Marguerite Waller Prize:

Endowed by the Old Girls’ Association in memory of Miss Waller who taught here for many years.

The prize is awarded for history.


Jane Brooks Prize:

In memory of a former pupil who died unexpectedly while she was in the Sixth Form at this school.

The prize is awarded for endeavour.


Lillian Cruttenden Bequest:

Left by an Old Girl of this school and awarded as a special prize for endeavour, either academic or in any other way.


Kathleen Jackson Prize:

In memory of former teacher Kathleen Jackson, this prize is awarded for pursuing scientific studies beyond school.


St Matthew’s Community Award:

Given to students who have shown an outstanding commitment to the school’s religious ethos.


Woodard Award for Faith & Service:

Endowed by the Woodard Foundation to which the school is affiliated.


The Ellen & Frederick Parrott Prize for Music:

Endowed by former pupil Ellen Parrot who attended SSSO 1945-1951


The Avila Award:

Donated anonymously in appreciation of the value that is given to the teaching of Religion, Philosophy

and Ethics at SSSO. Named after St Teresa of Avila, a 16th century nun and contemporary of Descartes.


Dyers 6th Form Bursaries

Chartered Surveyors Award

Dyer’s University Scholarship


St Saviour’s First Year Undergraduate Prize:

A new prize awarded to students who either gain places at Oxford, Cambridge or other Russell group

Universities, or go on to study medicine.


Dr Irene Bishop Award:

Dr Irene Bishop was headmistress of St Saviour’s & St Olave’s from 1994 to 2013