Skip to content ↓

How will students be assessed during Key Stage 5?

A Level maths is assessed in a modular system; however, this will depend on your choice of units of study.  Students study a variety of units, following pathways to their desired qualification.  Students may study units leading to the following awards:

  • Advanced Subsidiary GCE in Mathematics
  • Advanced GCE in Mathematics
  • Advanced Subsidiary GCE in Further Mathematics
  • Advanced GCE in Further Mathematics


Each unit will be examined by a 1½ hour written examination and the units are equally weighted.

For AS Level you will need to complete 3 units and for an A level you will complete 6 units in total.

AS Level

Core Mathematics 1

Core Mathematics 2

Applied Unit

(Statistics 1 or Mechanics 1)

A2 Level

Core Mathematics 3

Core Mathematics 4

Applied Unit

(Either Unit 2 of the previously studied applied units or Unit 1 of the alternative)


For Further Mathematics AS Level you will need to complete 9 units and for an A level you will complete 12 units in total.  To qualify for an A Level in further maths, additional time will be timetable for the extra 6 units and outside agencies such as the Further Maths network will also deliver the content.

During Years 12 & 13 A further Mathematics student will complete the following units:

C1, C2, S1, FP1,D1, S2, C3, C4, M1, FP2, FP3, M2

The order in which they complete the units may vary from year to year.

Every student’s mathematical understanding continues to be assessed during every lesson!  Students are assessed formatively by being asked specific questions, completing a diagnostic task, working as part of a group and many other ways. 


Students are entered for the edexcel AS and A2 modules

For more information on the course please visit