St Saviour's & St Olave's School

Structure of the Governance of the School

Governing Body

The school is a Voluntary Aided school (under the auspices of the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education) and it reconstituted in line with the Statutory Guidance, on 26th March 2015. There are 16 Governors appointed:

- a. 2 Elected Parents
- b. 1 Nominated by the Local Authority (London Borough of Southwark)
- c. 1 Elected member of Staff
- d. The Headteacher
- e. 2 Co-opted
- f. 9 Foundation Governors, appointed:
 - i. 1 by the Bishop of Southwark
 - ii. 3 by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education
 - iii. 1 by the Chapter of Southwark Cathedral
 - iv. 2 by the St Olave's & St Saviour's Schools Foundation
 - v. 1 by the Dulwich Estate
 - vi. 1 the principal officiating minister of the ecclesiastical parish of Holy Trinity with St Matthew's

The Chair is Mr James Rothwell.

The Governing Body has established a number of committees to which it delegates day to day responsibility for the oversight of various aspects of the running of the school:

Admissions Committee

All arrangements for Year 7 and Year 12 entry, including the admissions policy; Oversight of the production of the prospectus and ensuring that necessary and appropriate information is made available to prospective students and parents/guardians.

The Chair is Ms Laura Johnson.

Resources Committee

Initial oversight and management of the annual budget drawn up by the school; Ensures the school maintains an appropriate system of internal financial control; Agrees priorities for revenue and capital funding.

Oversight of the management and maintenance of the school premises;

Reviews proposals for capital projects and ensures best practice in procurement and implementation of works;

Provides advice and guidance on premises maintenance issues;

Lead responsibility for Health & Safety and monitoring of associated statutory requirements (eg Fire safety, Legionella etc).

The Chair is Mr Martin Hodgson

St Saviour's & St Olave's School

Curriculum & Pastoral Committee

Ensures the school offers a broad and balanced curriculum in accordance with the National Curriculum:

Reviews term dates and the length of the school day;

Receives reports of year and faculty reviews and monitors the Link Governor scheme;

Reviews school performance data and ensures lessons learnt are addressed;

Provides strategic advice and guidance on pastoral issues.

The Chair is Mrs Sue Long

Pay & Personnel Committee

Review and confirmation of pay and promotion decisions; Review of proposed staff structures.

The Chair is Mr James Rothwell.

A number of further committees are established as and when required, including Pupil Discipline (Chair: Mr James Rothwell), Staff Discipline and Appeals (Chair: Ms Laura Johnson).